Laura Brito (she/her)

MSW, LCSW
Not Accepting Clients

I am a queer Latina therapist with advanced training in sex and relationship therapy.

Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Asheville, NC

  • Free Initial Consultation
  • Contact
Services
  • Individual
  • Couples

About My Clients

Members of the LGBTQIA+, Kink, BDSM, Poly and non-traditional relationship communities; folx navigating coming out later in life; those managing chronic illness and redefining sexual intimacy; partners expanding the boundaries of their relationships; individuals embracing their sexual and/or gender identities.

My Background and Approach

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in North Carolina ( LCSW #C011117). I graduated from Yale University in 2000 with a Bachelor of Arts in Italian Language & Literature and obtained a Master of Social Work degree from UNC-Chapel Hill in 2013. I have been an LCSW in NC since 2017. In March of 2022, I will complete the University of Michigan’s Sexual Health Certificate Program. This program is comprised of 165 continuing education hours including advanced coursework in sex and relationship therapy. I am a member in good standing of the American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists (AASECT). I have also completed Gottman Level 1 and Gottman Level 2 training. I am currently pursuing sex therapy and Gottman certifications.

My Personal Beliefs and Interests

I am a Dominican immigrant and became a U.S. citizen at the age of 19. I come from a family of strong matriarchs. My maternal grandmother's experience in healthcare inspired me to become a social worker so that others like her would not have to die prematurely due to limited health literacy. I have worked in healthcare for 12 years (hospice and dialysis) and advocate for vulnerable populations on a daily basis. I live my life with reverence for others, especially elders. I came out in my early 40s, after marriage and kids, as did my mom and my partner. My children are also part of the LGBTQIA+ community and identify as gay and trans. I am a left-handed, flat-footed single mama. I don't know how to swim, ride a bike, or roller-skate but I at least learned to drive at 21 (who wants to drive in New York if they can help it?). I thrive despite a tough childhood and two divorces. Here's a snippet of my story. I would be honored to hear yours.

I offer online counseling in the following states:

At A Glance

  • Experience: 12 years of practice
  • Languages: English, Español
  • Rate: $150 - 150/session

Info

828-492-2492 Email Laura
410 Swannanoa River Rd
Asheville, NC 28805

Reach out to Laura